Active members Retired members Deferred members
News and Media Investments Board of Retirement About SDCERA Contact Us Blank tile
Font size :  A  |  A  |  A  Board of Retirement
Board of Retirement members
Board of Retirement meeting calendars
Board of Retirement meeting agendas and minutes
Responsibilities of the Board
The election process
Board Policies
Forms & Publications
Call Center 619.515.6800 Toll Free: 888.4.SDCERA
SDCERA Board of Retirement members

Member Appointed/elected
Term expires
Photo of E. F. "Skip" Murphy E. F. "Skip" Murphy Chairman
Elected by SDCERA
Retired members
Jun 30, 2017
E.F. "Skip" Murphy started as an SDCERA Board member beginning in December 1983 representing active members. In addition to more than 20 years of Board service as an active member, he has served nine terms as Chairman of the Board of Retirement. He currently serves on the Board representing retired members.
Photo of David A. Myers David A. Myers
Vice Chairman
Elected by SDCERA
Safety members
Dec 31, 2016
David A. Myers was elected to the Board in May 2003 and re-elected for a fifth term on January 2014. Myers has been with the San Diego County Sheriff's Department for more than 28 years, fulfilling various assignments as a deputy, sergeant, lieutenant, captain and now commander.
Photo of Dick Vortmann Dick Vortmann Secretary
Appointed by County
Board of Supervisors

Jun 30, 2017
Appointed November 2010, Dick Vortmann became a Board member after leading the 4,500 employee National Steel and Shipbuilding Company (NASSCO) for 22 years as president, CEO and chairman. Part of Vortmann's role in leading the billion-dollar shipbuilding and ship repair company was management of the organization's defined benefit and defined contribution plans for thousands of employees
Photo of Samantha Begovich Samantha Begovich Elected by SDCERA
General members
Jun 30, 2017
Samantha Begovich occupies the Second Seat on the Retirement Board. She was elected by the active General Members and began serving July 2014. Begovich serves as the Vice Chair of the Civic Leadership Fund at the San Diego Foundation and as the Chair of Stanford Law Society. She graduated from UCSD and Stanford Law School and brings 20 years of experience as an attorney with the District Attorney's Office.
Photo of Dianne Jacob Dianne Jacob Appointed by County
Board of Supervisors
Dec 31, 2016
San Diego County Supervisor Dianne Jacob was appointed to this role by the Board of Supervisors and began serving in May 2004. She was reappointed to the Retirement Board for a third term in January 2011. As a Supervisor, Jacob represents the 2nd District, which includes more than 620,000 people living in the cities of El Cajon, La Mesa, Lemon Grove, Poway and San Diego, along with Julian, Dehesa, Ramona, Jamul and other unincorporated communities.
Photo of Kristina Maxwell Kristina
Elected by SDCERA
General members
Jun 30, 2016
Elected to the Board by the General members, Kristina Maxwell began her first three-year term on July 1, 2013. Maxwell holds a degree in Business Administration from San Diego State University. She is currently an Administrative Analyst III working with Behavioral Health Services in the Adult/Older Adult Behavioral Health Systems of Care team of the County's Health and Human Services Agency (HHSA).
Photo of Dan McAllister Dan McAllister
County Treasurer-Tax
Collector. Member
mandated by law while holding this position.
Holds office during incumbency

Dan McAllister was elected to the Office of the Treasurer-Tax Collector by the general public in November 2002 and took office in December 2002. He occupies the first seat on the Retirement Board and will hold this position on the Board of Retirement as long as he remains in office. Prior to his election, McAllister was a financial consultant and investment broker with a major national brokerage firm.
Photo of Richard R. Tartre Richard R. Tartre Appointed by County
Board of Supervisors
Jun 30, 2018
Richard R. Tartre is a retired Senior Vice President for Met Life, following more than 35 years in the annuity, life insurance, mutual funds and investment industries. While at MetLife, Mr. Tartre was responsible for all private client activity west of the Mississippi and served as President of the entity responsible for products of not-for-profit institutions. Mr. Tartre is a veteran and holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration from U.C. Berkeley.
Photo of MarK Oemcke Mark E.
Appointed by County
Board of Supervisors
Jun 30, 2016
Mark E. Oemcke, appointed in July 2013, has more than 30 years of experience in financial services and banking, investment management across all asset classes, real estate and public accounting. A Certified Public Accountant, Oemcke is Chief Financial Officer of CICA, Inc, a private advisory firm for a family office. Oemcke previously held executive positions at Trigild, Equastone, Pacific Corporate Group, Dowling & Yahnke, Scripps Bank and Price Waterhouse. He is a former trustee of San Diego City Employees' Retirement System (SDCERS), having served the maximum of two terms, and currently serves on the Investment Committee of the USS Midway.
  SDCERA Alternate Board Members
Photo of James W. Feeley James W. Feeley Elected by SDCERA Retired members
Jun 30, 2017
James W. Feeley occupies the eighth alternate member seat on the Retirement Board and is SDCERA's longest serving Trustee. He was elected by the General Members and began serving March 1982 while still an active employee with the Assessor's Office, serving four consecutive terms until June 1992. Since his retirement from County service, Feeley has occupied the eighth seat on the Retirement Board as the retired members representative from July 1996 to the present.
Photo of Tim Hancock Tim
Elected by SDCERA Safety members
Dec 31, 2016
Tim Hancock was elected to his second three-year term on the Board of Retirement, which began in January 2014. Hancock began his career with the Probation Department in 1996 and currently works as a Supervising Probation Officer. He has also served on the board of the San Diego County Probation Officers' Association, holding the positions of Director, Vice President, and President.